Welcome, Guest ( Login )

Centenary Visit to Áras an Uachtaráin

Visit to Áras an Uachtaráin

Áras an Uachtaráin Tuesday, 25th June 2002


President Mary McAleese honoured the CUS union in its Centenary Year by inviting to Áras an Uachtaráin a group of past and present Presidents and Officers of the Union.


The visit took place on Tuesday, 25th June 2002 and indeed was for those involved certainly one of the highlights of the Centenary Year.


The President initially met and spoke with each individual within the group and then formally welcomed us all to Áras an Uachtaráin. She lauded the achievement of the school in maintaining its presence in the inner city which in her view added greatly to the vibrancy of the city centre. She particularly praised the work of the past officers and committee members of the Union for maintaining the Union in an active mode for one hundred years, a truly magnificent milestone.


On behalf of our Union our President, Ronnie Delany, thanked the President most sincerely for honouring the CUS Union through her invitation to spend this precious time with her at Áras an Uachtaráin. He indicated that the honour was not just for those present but for all of the Past Presidents and Officers of the Union that had worked so diligently over the last 100 years.


During an hour’s visit with the President she mingled with the group and chatted about various educational and historical issues relating to CUS. After the President took leave from the group we were treated to a tour of the magnificent house by Commandant Dermot O’Connor who spoke most informedly about the history of the house. All members of the Union who were present, felt a sense of occasion and felt personally privileged to be representing a long line of Presidents and Officers from the founders right through to the present day.


Those in attendance:

Ronnie Delany President, John Campbell Vice President, Conor O’Brien, Billy Alexander Hon. Secretary, David Robb Hon. Treasurer, Colm Flanagan, Barry Noonan, Philip Clarke. Larry Power, Greg Hand, Paul Byrne, Martin Kelly, Fr. Denis Green, Frank Scott-Lennon, Fr. John Hannon, Neil Noonan, Matt Barry, Gerry Ormond.

0 Item(s)